Stonewall Health Champions

Stonewall's Health Champions Programme, funded by the Department of Health, provides free support to 20 NHS organisations in England for one year to improve health services for lesbian, gay and bisexual people. 

Stonewall research has clearly demonstrated that lesbian, gay and bisexual people face significant health inequalities as well as discrimination when accessing health services. Based upon the in-depth support we have provided to NHS organisations, the programme will offer member organisations practical advice to help them achieve real improvements in the care they provide to local lesbian, gay and bisexual people and their families. 

Each Health Champion will receive: 
  • Consultancy support worth over £6,500
  • A free initial needs assessment based on Stonewall health research
  • Support to establish a lesbian, gay and bisexual network group for staff 
  • Access to NHS specific training on sexual orientation equality
  • Support entering the Stonewall Healthcare Equality Index to benchmark progress year on year
  • A benchmarking meeting to identify next steps at the end of the programme

Testimonials from previous Health Champions 

“Thank you for letting us be a part of it and we will continue the work with LGB people in the future and use the expertise from Stonewall.”
NHS Somerset 

“It provided us with operational leadership team focus and provided organisational gravitas. As Stonewall is seen as a leading light, this provided a level of authority and status to the programme. ”
Sussex Partnership NHS Foundation Trust 

“The consultation time and flexibility to adapt the Health Champions programme to our organisational needs.”
Yorkshire Ambulance Service NHS Trust 

"We have found the availability of people at Stonewall particularly valuable for sounding ideas, gaining a good understanding of priority areas and being able to talk through developments.”
Yorkshire Ambulance Service NHS Trust 

"Having the Health Champions Programme in place is a great opportunity it engaged our senior managers well and kept them interested.  It helped mobilise ideas and initiatives which we have wanted to put in place for some time."
Kent Community Health NHS Trust

The following organisations are Health Champions for 2014/15

Aintree University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
County Durham and Darlington NHS Foundation Trust
Chelsea and Westminster Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
NHS Dartford Gravesham and Swanley CCG and NHS Swale CCG (joint)
East Cheshire NHS Trust
East Sussex Healthcare NHS Trust
Kettering General Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust
Newcastle upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
NHS North Lincolnshire CCG
Royal Liverpool and Broadgreen University Hospitals NHS Trust
Salford Royal NHS Foundation Trust
Salisbury NHS Foundation Trust
Solent NHS Trust
NHS South Devon and Torbay CCG
NHS South Tyneside CCG
NHS South Worcestershire CCG
St Andrew’s Healthcare
Tavistock and Portman NHS Foundation Trust
West Midlands Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust

The following organisations have already been part of Health Champions

Barts Health NHS Trust
Bradford Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
Bridgewater Community Healthcare NHS Trust
Brighton and Sussex University Hospital NHS Trust
Cambridgeshire Community Services NHS Trust
Central London Community Healthcare NHS Trust 
Cheshire and Wirral Partnership NHS Foundation Trust
Dorset Healthcare University NHS Foundation Trust
NHS East and North Hertfordshire CCG
East London NHS Foundation Trust
East Midlands Ambulance Service NHS Trust
NHS Herts Valleys CCG 
Greater Manchester Clinical Support Unit
Guy's and St Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust
Hampshire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
Hounslow and Richmond Community Healthcare NHS Trust
Isle of Wight NHS Trust
NHS Lambeth CCG
Leeds Community Healthcare NHS Trust
Lincolnshire Community Health NHS Trust
Liverpool Community Health NHS Trust
London Ambulance Service NHS Trust
NHS Lincolnshire
NHS Somerset
Norfolk and Norwich University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
NHS Northern, Eastern and Western Devon CCG
Northamptonshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust
Northumbria Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust
Nottingham City Care Partnership
NHS Nottingham City CCG
Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust
South Devon Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust
NHS South Manchester CCG
Sussex Partnership NHS Foundation Trust
NHS Tower Hamlets CCG
University Hospital Southampton NHS Foundation Trust
NHS West Kent CCG
NHS Wirral CCG
Yorkshire Ambulance Service NHS Trust